fbpx

Health Education for International Schools

Fundamentals to Skills-Based Health Education

Date and Time

15 & 22 April 2023

Each session takes place between 15:00-18:00 GMT+8
Sessions are recorded for later reference

Price (USD)

Attendee From School Pass School
$175USD

Non School Pass Holders
Early Bird (before 15 August 2022)
$225USD

Regular Price
$250USD

Certification: $250USD

Reference Times

London - 8:00
Cape Town - 9:00
Dubai - 11:00
New Delhi - 12:30
Bangkok - 14:00
Hong Kong - 15:00
Seoul - 16:00
Sydney - 18:00
Add your city

Create a comprehensive, skills-based Health & well-being curriculum

In this six hour course, participants will be guided through the process of creating a comprehensive, skills-based Health & Wellbeing curriculum that can be applicable for grades K-12 and adapted to align with any set of standards or curricular framework. Participants will leave with ready to use resources, projects and unit plans, and proactive solutions for a schoolwide approach.

Rave Reviews

In many international schools, health education is added as an afterthought or tasked to teachers who don’t have enough time or resources to give it the attention it deserves. In this workshop, participants will be guided through the process of creating a comprehensive, skills-based Health & Wellbeing curriculum that can be applicable for grades 5-12 and adapted to align with any set of standards or curricular framework. Participants will leave with ready to use resources, projects and unit plans.

Content areas covered will include:

  1. Stress management and mental health
  2. Mindfulness
  3. Technology balance
  4. Sleep
  5. Puberty
  6. Sexual health, consent & healthy relationships
  7. Nutrition for multicultural students
  8. Social/emotional learning in the health class

Certification Opportunity

Participants can optionally choose to become “Level 1 Certified International School Health Educators.” This is an action-based certification that will allow you to focus on developing a unit plan for your health curriculum for your school context.  After submission, the course leader will provide individualized feedback on your work to guide its further development. 

If you submit the work and it meets the standard you will receive an additional certificate and digital badge.

To attain the certification you must attend the workshop sessions live

Facilitator

Amy Lauren Smith

Hong Kong International School

Amy Lauren Smith teaches Health & Wellbeing at the Hong Kong International School and has a passion for a curriculum that is current, relevant, adaptable, and shared. Outside of the classroom, Amy serves as a consultant for schools looking to align their approach to Health & Wellbeing and has shared her work at conferences throughout Asia as well as at SXSWedu and the SHAPE America National Conventions. 

You can find her online at thehealthteacher.com and on Twitter: @teaching_health.

Other Workshops in PHASE Workshop Series