fbpx

In this two-part six-hour course, participants will be guided through the process of creating a comprehensive, skills-based Health & Wellness curriculum that can be applicable for grades K-12 and adapted to align with any set of standards or curricular framework. Participants will leave with ready to use resources, projects and unit plans, as well as proactive solutions

In most international schools, health education is often added as an afterthought or tasked to teachers who don’t have enough time or resources to give it the attention it deserves. In this workshop, participants will be guided through the process of creating a comprehensive, skills-based Health & Wellness curriculum that can be applicable for grades 5-12 and adapted to align with any set of standards or curricular framework. Participants will leave with ready to use resources, projects and unit plans, as well as proactive solutions to the following issues and concerns:

  • Current best practice in health education 
  • Skills-based health education in international communities 
  • Harnessing the power of student voice and advocacy
  • Aligning your school’s approach to sex ed
  • Updating lessons to meet the health concerns of today’s kids and teens
  • Project-based learning with a focus on health and wellness
  • Developing a network of health and wellness teachers
  • Tools for collaborating with your school’s counseling and advisory teams

Content areas covered will include:

  1. Stress management and mental health
  2. Mindfulness
  3. Technology balance
  4. Sleep
  5. Puberty
  6. Sexual health, consent & healthy relationships
  7. Nutrition for multicultural students
  8. Social/emotional learning in the health class

Who Should Attend?

  • HPE Teachers from Grade 5/Year 6 and Up
  • Counselors who teach health
  • PE Teachers who have attended Amy’s workshop before can consider attending again for updated resources

Price

$USD

Date and Time

Each session takes place between 5-6pm GMT+8
Sessions are recorded for later reference

Reference Start Times

Hong Kong – 5pm
London – 10am
Cape Town – 11am
New Delhi – 2:30pm
Bangkok – 4pm
Seoul – 6pm
Sydney – 7pm
Add your city

Facilitator

Amy Lauren Smith

Hong Kong International School

Amy Lauren Smith teaches Health & Wellbeing at the Hong Kong International School and has a passion for a curriculum that is current, relevant, adaptable, and shared. Outside of the classroom, Amy serves as a consultant for schools looking to align their approach to Health & Wellbeing and has shared her work at conferences throughout Asia as well as at SXSWedu and the SHAPE America National Conventions. 

You can find her online at thehealthteacher.com and on Twitter: @teaching_health.